There are many reasons why one would delete a Facebook account: Whether you are concerned about your online privacy and tired of constant updates about topics that interest you not, or even if you realize that Facebook will steal valuable time that you could spend on more important things. The good news is that it's not as complicated as you might imagine.
If you're thinking delete your Facebook account, know that you are not alone. Between the scandal of Cambridge Analtyica and growing concerns about the impact of social networks on our individual and societal health, people turn away more and more to those sites that dominate the Internet.
We will explain throughout this guide how to delete a Facebook account by showing you the difference between deactivating your account and permanent removal.
The difference between deleting and deactivating a Facebook account
There are two different methods to your Facebook account offline. The first is the deactivation, which means:
- You can reactivate your account if you want whenever you want via a simple connection
- People can not view your Facebook wall or find you in search results
- Some information may remain visible (as the messages you have sent)
Deleting your Facebook account on it is more serious. If you delete your account:
- After the request, Facebook delaying the removal for a few days. If you login during this period, will cancel the removal procedure
- You can not access your Facebook account once removed
- The deletion of data stored in backup systems can take up 3 month. However during this period, your information is not accessible on Facebook
- Certain elements, as sent messages, which are not stored in your account will remain active
- according to Facebook, copies of certain documents, as log records, can remain in the database, but are dissociated personal identifiers
How to disable Facebook account
To deactivate a Facebook account, there is 5 steps to follow:
1. Click the arrow down menu at the top right of any Facebook page of your web browser
2. Select "Settings"
3. Choose "General" in the left column
4. Click "Manage Your Account"
5. Press "Deactivate your account", then follow the steps to confirm your decision
To reactivate your account after being disabled, simply logging in to Facebook with your email and password. Your profile will be fully restored.
How to delete a Facebook account
If you want to disable your access to Facebook, click the following link and choose the "Delete Account": Delete my Facebook account
Before deleting a Facebook account, make sure this decision is really what you want. Social networks are rooted in society, and your Facebook profile can affect job prospects, friendships and social opportunities. If your concern is to secure your privacy settings Facebook, remember that there are ways to make it through the settings.